IGNORED

Favourite book you had to read at school

Ernegirl

Did you end up loving any of the set texts you had to read at school?

I still cherish my copies of A Town Like Alice, To kill a Mockingbird, Jude the Obsecure and The Great Gatsby.

I also loved The Splendid Journey, it was based on the true story of siblings whose parents died while they were migrating on the Oregon Trail. The reference to the Little House books on the 'what are you reading ' thread just reminded me about it.

I have vague memories of other stories when I was a younger student. You often felt the book was going to be boring but you'd always be sucked into the story :-)

• Replies 95
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Seayork2002

• Mooguru

• Antifa

• Jane Jetson

Top Posters In This Topic

Bridge to Terabitha, loved it, cry every time I read it. Plus Brother In the Land, gave me nightmares for months but it stuck with me.

Seayork2002

There lots of books I did not like as I kept on being told, on giving my opinion, that I was wrong 'no the author was not saying that but this' so I gave up.

the one that stands out was To kill a mocking bird

I am thankful in a way I never did Shakespeare as I don't think I would have got what I was meant to on that

I know why schools have to teach a certain way when it comes to books so not saying they were wrong it is just I did not interpret the books the way I was meant too which means I did not like them

Like [mention]Jolly_F[/mention] I loved Playing Beatie Bow.

Also Tom Stoppard's Arcadia.

Hated Heart of Darkness with a passion. Wasn't overly keen on To Kill a Mocking Bird.

The three that stand out in my memory are:

Fortress by Gabrielle Lord. Read it in one night, couldn't put it down.

MacBeth I don't know if love is the right word but I appreciated it.

The Lord of the Flies

Seayork2002

The three that stand out in my memory are:

Fortress by Gabrielle Lord. Read it in one night, couldn't put it down.